Tips & Tricks

Regrowing Green Onions


I used to hate buying green onions from the store, you use a tiny amount and then the rest go bad… what a waste! Now, after using the green part I just put the remaining white part and the roots into some water. They will grow right back up, over and over again! The ones you see laying on the table in front of the jar were pieces I had to cut off this morning because they were so tall they were flopping over. This is my second batch of green onions in a few months. I made a mistake with the first batch by giving them too much water. What happened is that the white parts at the bottom were too soggy and turned moldy. It was not pretty, lesson learned! You want the water to cover just the roots. I would not fill it any higher than this:

All you have to do is change the water daily, I also like to rinse out the jar and roots too. They grow back very quickly. The last batch I had lasted me about a month or so before it went downhill (which was my own fault). I have had these for a few weeks now and they are still growing and looking great! I have also heard that you can replant these in some dirt or in your garden. My guess is they would last even longer that way but I have not tried it yet. I just keep my jar in the kitchen window. It is great having fresh green onions anytime you want them. It can also save you a bit of money if you use green onion frequently, especially if you buy the organic kind. If you have any other tips on re-growing green onions (or anything else) I would love to hear them πŸ™‚

❀ Ashley

16 thoughts on “Regrowing Green Onions”

  1. Wow this is seriously cool! How long do you think it’s safe to keep regrowing the same green onion? We use these all of the time in my house!

  2. I would say as long as they look healthy and are not moldy or anything like that it should be fine. If you don’t think they are okay to eat I wouldn’t take any chances. I’m sure they don’t last forever this way, but its a great way to stretch your money πŸ™‚ Not to mention it looks pretty in the window! hehe.

  3. Mine are not doing so well. I am moving them out of the window sill and under a flourscent light bulb. Hopes this helps mine, because it is a very good idea!!!!

  4. Love this idea! I put green onions in a lot of dishes, so this would be a great way for me to save money!

    1. It is great! I have started taking the new growth, cutting it up and freezing it in a water bottle. Just shake out how much you need when you are making something… no wasting! πŸ™‚

  5. Yes! You can plant them and use the tops and they keep growing right in the garden, just like chives!

Leave a comment