Homemade Air Freshener


This was my first time making this, and I am shocked at how simple it is. These would make an excellent gift and there are so many options as far as what fragrance you want. You get to pick how strong the scent is, and there are no nasty chemicals. You can leave it clear, or choose a color to match your decor. If you leave it clear, or don’t go overboard on food coloring (like I did) you can also add in things like decorative rocks, shells, etc. These are supposed to dry out over the course of a month or so, just like the ones from the store. You can use either fragrance oils, pure essential oils, or a combination of both. You can use small glasses/jars and can make each one a different color or scent if you would like. I opted for one, bigger air freshener by using an old Claussen pickle jar and used lavender for the scent. I really love finding recipes like this that have so many possibilities. So lets get started, you will need:

  • several small jars/glasses (or one large one)
  • 4 packets unflavored gelatin
  • 2 cups cold water
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • fragrance oil and/or essential oil
  • food coloring

  1. Boil 1 cup of water, whisk in gelatin until dissolved. (It is very important to whisk constantly and pour in a little at a time to avoid lumps. It helps to have your packets of gelatin opened and ready to go)
  2. Add salt, whisk until dissolved
  3. Add in other cup of cold water

Add just a couple of drops of food coloring (or not if you want it clear) to your container(s). Then your oil(s). Start with about 30 drops and add more if you think you need to. I did about 45 drops in mine. Mostly the fragrance oil, I think I did about 10 drops of essential oil. Next time I will probably add more seeing as how I did it all in one jar instead of say 3 smaller jars. Then pour your gelatin mixture into the container(s) and stir with something disposable like a popsicle stick. Then just let it sit overnight, It will gel up and turn more clear. As you can see in the picture above mine looked somewhat cloudy at first. I will take a picture tomorrow after it gels completely and add that as well. So far it is setting up nicely and smells fantastic πŸ™‚

Enjoy!

❀ Ashley

 

(Edit~ Added on 01/16/2012)

My air freshener is set up and smells lovely. Here is what it looks like:

It is still really dark. I know I used wayyyy too much food coloring, hehe. I set the jar on its side to show how thick the gel is, it doesn’t budge!

 

10 thoughts on “Homemade Air Freshener

  1. LOVE this! I really want to try this. I agree…it would make great gifts! I like your idea too of using rocks shells or marbles.

  2. Do you recommend glass jars only or can you do plastic? I know a silly question, but we go thru a lot of peanut butter in this house and this would be a great way to reuse the jars. Thanks for the idea can not wait to try it.

  3. Thank you ladies πŸ™‚

    Janis~ My only concern with that is the mixture is still very hot when you pour it into your container. I think it would work great if the plastic doesn’t melt lol.

  4. If you use tea candles….u can pour some into the empty tin tray and after the liquid becomes cooled you can top it with a little piece of Foil that has been punched with holes (to allow the smell to come through ) and put it in your closets…car…etc. and not have a large jar in the way…:)

  5. Dear Ashley,

    Thank you for the quick response on the topic of homemade liquid detergent.

    I have a silly question, but here it goes, do you know how much each of the gelatin packs weigh?

    Thanks!

    • It will slowly dry out, just like the ones at the store. I had mine for a few weeks before my daughter got to it and dropped it. Luckily the jar did not break but the gel inside went everywhere lol. I haven’t made another one for fear of that happening again so I am not sure exactly, sorry. If you make smaller ones I would guess they would last probably about a month but I am not positive.

Leave a Reply

