Archive | January 13, 2013

Homemade Chia Seed Pudding


Chia Seed Pudding Recipe - Ashley's Homemade Adventures

I know most of you hear “chia” and think “Ch-ch-ch-chia!” but this seed is good for so much more than growing “wool” on a cute clay lamb. I recently bought a pound of chia seeds because I heard about the many health benefits. It contains essential fatty acids, protein, fiber, iron, magnesium, antioxidants and many other nutrients our bodies need. You can read about the many other wonderful benefits of chia seeds here. After buying the seeds admittedly I had no idea how to use them. I did a quick search and one of the first things that came up was 10 Uses for Chia Seeds by the Wellness Mama. She has a wonderful recipe for chia seed pudding and says her kids love it (the seeds soak up the liquid and gel up). I decided that is what I wanted to try first, since it sounds like something my daughter would like as well. I decided to try her strawberry version since I had just bought some fresh strawberries (although the chocolate recipe sounds heavenly as well and we will be trying that next!) Here is how to make the strawberry recipe:

  • 2 cups milk (we use almond milk)
  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 1 cup fresh strawberries (about 6 large strawberries)
  • 1 tbsp honey

Place all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth. Transfer to bowl and chill in fridge. It takes about 10 minutes to thicken up to the right consistency. I personally think it is better if you let it sit for a few hours, the outside of the seeds will soften up more so it feels smoother.

Chia Seed Pudding

I know it does not look all that pretty but wow it is good! It tastes so creamy and strawberry-y 🙂 There are so many combinations you could dream up! I am so glad I decided to try this, I love it and my daughter does too.

The only downside is cleaning the blender, some of the seeds will get stuck. I just used the hose attachment on the sink to blast most of them out. Then I filled my blender halfway with water, added a drop of dish soap and used the cleaning cycle to get the rest out. I hope this will not keep you from trying this recipe, it is so worth the few extra minutes of clean up. It is so good for you and the chia seeds will also help keep you full!

Enjoy!

❤ Ashley

