Fall


I used to love fall, in fact it was my favorite season of the year when I lived in Virginia. All of the leaves turning, pumpkin spice coffee, sweaters, all of the comfort food and coziness that comes with it. The sky seemed to sparkle and the sunsets were gorgeous that time of year. Then something horrible happened…. One absolutely gorgeous fall day I got the worst call of my life. My sister Amanda was in the hospital, with fluid in her lungs and blood on her brain. She was 18 years old.

What happened with Amanda is a long story and something I am not prepared to go into at this moment, but she passed away. My beautiful, full of life, crazy (in a good way) sister that I grew up with was gone. (If you want to know what happened you can visit this site that I made for her right after she passed. Amanda’s memorial site. There is music so make sure your speakers aren’t too loud) Since then I have hated fall, the crisp air, the turning leaves…. they all reminded me of that horrible time in my life when I lost my sister. Last month was 7 years since that awful day and slowly I am learning to love fall again. I think I have appreciated it more this year than I have in a LONG time. I live in Massachusetts now so it is a little colder than I like, but I am appreciating other little things about this time of year.

I know this is not the normal post you would find on my blog, but I just wanted to share these pictures with all of you and a little of my story.

Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower. ~ Albert Camus. 

We do still have some flowers that are hanging on, I am trying to enjoy them because soon everything will be brown.

I hope you are enjoying this fall! I also hope that if you are grieving right now that this will give you some hope. Of course you will always miss your loved one and will still have very bad days, but the bad days get farther apart and slowly you start appreciating life again.

❤ Ashley

EDIT: The link for her site will not work for some reason but if you would like to see it copy and paste this into your browser: nanderz.triopd.com (It took a few tries for me before it actually came up, it must be an issue with their site)

Leave a Reply

