Garlic Cilantro Buttermilk Dressing


Adapted from The Homesick Texan Recipe (Great blog with lots of yummy looking recipes)

We have not bought regular salad dressing in quite a while. Instead I started buying the ridiculously expensive ones in the refrigerated section because they don’t contain MSG or preservatives. I do have to say that the Marketside brand (sold at Walmart) has some great dressings, I love the sesame ginger (which is also great for marinating chicken) and the light buttermilk ranch. The bottle in the picture above is one of their bottles, but with homemade dressing in it. Although they taste great, the price was bothering me since we go through a lot of dressing and I knew I could do better. I make my husband a huge salad to take to work every week for his lunches and we eat salad quite a bit too. We also like to dip baby carrots and celery into ranch dressing. I have found many recipes through Pinterest but this one really interested me. You can leave it really thick and use as a dip for chips or veggies, or make it thinner by adding more buttermilk. The great thing about making your own dressing is you can make it however you want 🙂

  • 1/4 cup of mayonnaise (I used the kind made with olive oil)
  • 1/2 cup of sour cream (I used light but greek yogurt or yogurt cheese would probably work very well too)
  • 1/2 cup of buttermilk (I used reduced fat)
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice (lemon juice is fine too)
  • 1 small clove of garlic, crushed
  • add salt & black pepper to taste

Simply combine all of the ingredients in a medium size bowl and mix together. Store covered in a glass jar in the fridge. You can certainly use it right away, but I think it tastes much better after sitting over night. The flavors really have a chance to meld together and the garlic mellows out quite a bit. The flavor of the cilantro really shines in this, if you do not like cilantro you will not like this dressing. However you can easily replace the cilantro with parsley or dill or both. Personally I love cilantro and how fresh it makes everything taste. The original recipe says it keeps for a week. I have had some of mine sitting for 9 days to test it and it is still fine. Use your own judgement, if it starts to smell funky don’t eat it lol. Just give it a quick shake before using and enjoy!

Nothing compares to fresh dressing you made yourself!

❤ Ashley

2 thoughts on “Garlic Cilantro Buttermilk Dressing

  1. I’m totally going to try this b.c dressing without crappy ingredients IS expensive. I’ve been making my own vinaigrettes but no creamy dressings yet. I wonder if this would work with “DIY Buttermilk.” I once was in a pinch & realized I needed buttermilk for a recipe & luckily found this substitution:
    1 cup buttermilk – Take 1 tablespoon lemon juice or vinegar plus milk to equal 1 cup (stir & let stand 5 minutes)

    I can’t really remember the consistency but I’ve done this at least two times & what I do remember is it didn’t turn out bad & it’s a much cheaper alternative. But is it as tasty, that is the question!

    • That is what I use when I don’t have buttermilk for baking. It might make it a little thinner but you could add more sour cream or yogurt. It probably wouldn’t have quite the same taste but I don’t think it would taste bad either. I will try it next time I run out of buttermilk 🙂

Leave a Reply

