Homemade Facial Toner


This homemade toner has only 3 ingredients and takes hardly any time to make. It smells fantastic and is great for your skin, what is not to love? It would also be very easy to adjust to your own personal preferences. You will only need:

  • 1 cup green tea, cooled to room temperature
  • 1/4 cup witch hazel
  • 10 drops lavender essential oil ~ optional but has added benefits for your skin

Place 1-2 tea bags into a cup or bowl, pour one cup of hot water over tea bags. Let steep until water has reached room temperature, discard tea bag. Stir in witch hazel, pour into storage bottle. Add essential oil and give it a good shake. So easy and so good for your skin! I used jasmine green tea, so it has an extra floral-y scent. (I don’t think floral-y is a word but you know what I mean, right?) πŸ™‚ Green tea has amazing antioxidant and anti-inflammatoryΒ benefits, witch hazel gently cleanses the skin, and lavender essential oil is also anti-inflammatory, anti-septic and anti-fungal. You could also use tea tree oil in place of the lavender but the lavender smells much better in my humble opinion. Apply with a cotton ball after washing your face and do not rinse. You could also store this in a spray bottle and lightly mist your face, be careful not to get it into your eyes. If you have problems with acne on other parts of your body, like your back, you could spray it onto your back. I have been using homemade toner for a few months now and have seen a big difference with my complexion. Β Use regularly and enjoy!

❀ Ashley

 

P.S. I am very excited because on March 6th my daughter and I are going to visit family in Texas for two weeks!! πŸ™‚ Thank you tax return lol. Also this is just a random picture I wanted to share, one of my flowers from Valentine’s Day ❀

 

29 thoughts on “Homemade Facial Toner

  1. I LOVE this toner!!! Recently I had a horrible allergic reaction (I have horrible allergies during the spring) and my face broke out, I’ve never had skin issues so I was traumatized!!! Anyways, I decided to give myself a facial and start using this toner and after just a week and a half of using it my skin is clear and beautiful! And it’s SO easy to make! Thanks Ashley!

      • Janice this toner does not dry out your skin like store bought toners can do. I would still follow up with a moisturizer but you may even be able to cut back on the amount you use once your skin adjusts. Hope you like it!

    • I haven’t exactly kept track… I make a new batch about every month. It would definitely last longer if kept in the fridge though πŸ™‚

  2. Where do you buy witch hazel? I’ve been having a hard time finding something that 100% witch hazel with nothing added.

  3. I cannot believe I have not left a comment about this stuff. I have been using this since March along with a homemade facial cleanser and my skin is so healthy looking! I have the confidence to wear no foundation and just eye makup. I now have my son using it since he is “becoming a man” and it helps him. The other place I use it is on minor scrapes that don’t require a band aid. It heals them so much quicker! Thank you for sharing. I am actually making a batch right now and that reminded me to do this.

    • I have not kept any longer than a month and it never went bad within that month I just used it all. I am sure you can get it to last longer in the fridge. You should be able to smell a difference when it starts to go bad. If you want you can skip the tea and just use the witch hazel and essential oils and it will store for a really long time. Enjoy πŸ™‚

  4. hi, i want to try making it but the only kind of witch hazel that i can find all contains 14% alcohol, can i still use them?

Leave a Reply

