Homemade Fabric Softener (Fast and Easy!)


Before I found this recipe I was using plain vinegar as my fabric softener. Although it worked great, I couldn’t wait to try this. I absolutely love it! It works just as well as store bought and its WAY cheaper! You will need:

  • 2 cups cheap conditioner (like Suave or V05)
  • 3 cups plain white vinegar
  • 6 cups hot water

Mix your conditioner with the hot water, then add in the vinegar and mix well. Ta-da! You just saved yourself several dollars and it only took about a minute! Also, just like the laundry detergent you are not subjecting your family to unnecessary chemicals. The regular size bottle of conditioner was just about 2 cups so it worked out perfectly. Just give your fabric softener a gentle shake before each use. If you try it, please let me know what you think! 🙂

❤ Ashley

21 thoughts on “Homemade Fabric Softener (Fast and Easy!)

  1. Pingback: Homemade Laundry Detergent | Ashley's Homemade Adventures

  2. I cant wait to try this ! Im one of those Krazy couponers…I have soooo many bottles of FREE conditioners….This will cost me pennies… Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    • Rita, you would use how ever much you would normally use. We have a top loading machine with a spot for the fabric softener. I just fill it to the max fill line like I always have 🙂 I hope that helps.

  3. How much do you use in like a large load of laundry? I haven’t seen any mention of how much you pour into the washer.

  4. Great tips, I love that recipe!! I put mine in a spray bottle and spritz a few times on the clothes and start the dryer. It works great and is super easy.

  5. Another good take on homemade fabric softener is to just use the vinegar straight. I use an old Downey ball for this in the washer. It does the trick just fine with no help, but since my family like fragrance, I put a few drops of essential oil on a dry washcloth and toss it into the dryer with the load I’m drying.

    • Yes when I don’t feel like making this that is what I will use lol. I believe I mentioned it in my laundry detergent post but thanks for mentioning it on this page for people who may not know. That is a great idea for the essential oil, I will have to try it. Thank you! 🙂

      • I got that idea from a survival forum of all place. LOL Works really well and you can change it up with scents, that;s why I love it! 🙂

  6. Also for those that love dryer sheets… Take a washcloth and soak it in fabric softener and let it dry out completely then just toss it in the dryer with your loads. It usually will last about 10 loads before you have to “reload” it.

  7. Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely feel this website needs
    much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read through
    more, thanks for the information!streetdirectory

  8. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

  9. Seen this on pinterest. I made up a batch, used less vinegar but it worked wonderfully. The big test will be when my 5 year old uses a bath towel. He’s very sensitive to chemicals. Keeping my fingers crossed!

  10. Great! Now I make my way through the hair care aisle searching out my favorite scent. At .78 per bottle, V05 is hard to beat. Thanks for a keeper of an idea!

Leave a Reply

