Homemade Deodorant


After reading some of the amazing benefits of coconut oil I just HAD to go out and buy a jar of it. Then I had to learn what to do with it, lol. While searching for uses of coconut oil, one thing I found was this recipe for homemade deodorant. I thought it was brilliant and had to try it. Immediately I rushed into the kitchen with my supplies and made a batch. I have not used regular store bought deodorant since. By making your own deodorant you are not exposing yourself to potentially harmful chemicals (like aluminum which may be linked to breast cancer) and its good for your skin as well. This is what you will need:

5 Tablespoons coconut oil (I used Spring Valley extra virgin coconut oil found in the vitamin section at Walmart)

1/4 Cup of baking soda

1/4 Cup of arrowroot powder or cornstarch (I used cornstarch)

10-15 drops essential oils (completely optional – I used mostly lavender with a hint of eucalyptus)

In a bowl, mix together the baking soda and cornstarch. Then add coconut oil and essential oils and stir together to make a paste. Simple right?! Then you can either spoon it into an empty deodorant container, or a container with a lid. This recipe made enough for me to fill a regular size deodorant container, a travel size deodorant container and a condiment container.

There are a few things you should know before making this. Coconut oil starts to melt at 76 degrees, so if you live in a warm place you might want to store your homemade deodorant in the fridge. It also melts a little while applying onto your skin. I have found the old deodorant containers to be a little messy while applying. You might end up with too much because of the melting. I much prefer scooping a little bit out of the small container with my fingers and applying it that way. Also it does not make your armpits smell good like regular deodorant, they will just not smell, like anything. It is very effective in preventing odor. The baking soda may irritate some people, although I have had no problem with it. If any of these things concern you, there are many other recipes readily available on the internet. This is the only one that I have tried so far, but it works for me.

So this may not be for everyone, but if you are brave enough to try it please let me know what you think! šŸ™‚

ā¤ Ashley

26 thoughts on “Homemade Deodorant

  1. Admittedly, I saw your comment in freshly pressed, and accidentally while scrolling down the page saw the name of your blog. The title got me curious, so I clicked on over. Now, imagine my surprise when I find a refreshingly new and interesting blog with so many innovative ideas. This one in particular caught my eye, but really this whole blog is just great. I am a huge fan of do-it-at-home projects, and I am excited to try my hand first at the deodorant before moving onto to other cool ideas. GREAT BLOG!

  2. Pingback: Homemade Chocolates | Ashley's Homemade Adventures

  3. Thanks for the great ideas! So I made this deodorant today and it is very crumbly. I followed directions exactly except no essential oils. Definitely not a paste. What should I do?

    • It might be crumbly – and that’s ok. If you can still scoop it out and allow it to “melt” against the skin, then it’s just fine. If there isn’t anything melting when you apply it and it just kind of flakes off – add another tablespoon of coconut oil and mash it together again.

      • I have been using this deodorant for a good 6 months and it works great. I have found that when you’re mixing it up it is best to melt the coconut oil first. It seems to be less crumbly that way and rubs in more easily.

  4. Carrie~ When you first mix it, it is a little bit crumbly looking. Once you get it packed into your container it should be okay. Remember the coconut oil starts melting at 76 degrees, so it will melt into your skin when you apply it. If you still think it is too dry you can always add more coconut oil. I hope that helps you šŸ™‚ Thank you everyone for your comments!

  5. Okay let me just say your blog is simply AMAZING! I just came from a Young Living Essential Oils Conference and learned how toxins affect our quality of life. Now I am on the ban-wagon to get my house toxin free. With my youngest son having ADHD, I’m learning it could have all been prevented by actually watching his food & chemical intake. Thanks for all the wonderful recipes…I have been making my own detergent with just baking soda & Young Living Oils (Thieves & Lavender)…same with the facial scrub & “Soft scrub” cleanser & “Carpet Fresh”. Your recipes add to the wonderful collection I have started…I’ll be sending everyone to your site…THANK YOU!!!

    • Thank you Christy! It has really only been the past year that I have been learning all of these things myself, and I am happy to share. I only wish more people would jump on the ban-wagon, it is a good one to be on. I am so glad you found my blog šŸ™‚

  6. Just tried this recipe and I was pleasantly surprised! It DOES smell good (like the lavender eo that I added.) I hope others will dive into the unknown and try it, as well! One question, do you think it will stain my white shirts?

  7. I tried the recipe and I loved, it i used tea tree oil instead and I’m amazed, is like I’m not sweating no smell at all it is a little bit messy but it works thank you your blog is amazing, I’m about to try your shampoo recipe, good bless you for putting this blog I’m learning a lot and no more deodorant from the store for me anymore thank you,

  8. Hi Ashley – found your site, great info. Glad you are trying everything out yourself, too. FYI – it’s not the baking soda that people may find irritating though, it’s the cornstarch. And if they are sensitive to the starch, then it should be swapped for the arrowroot. šŸ™‚

  9. Hi Erin…
    I just got my order of arrowroot powder yesterday! I am actually going to be trying a new deodorant recipe soon and will post about it once I have the time šŸ™‚ I have just been very busy lately. Thanks for the comment! šŸ™‚

  10. Pingback: Homemade… | Gabbygladheart's Blog

  11. I’ve beena fan of using baking soda and a little water to make it paste like for about two years. I’ve never heard of the cocoanut though. I’m sure the starch is to counteract the oiliness but what is the use of the cocoanut oil?

    • Hi there! The coconut oil actually kills the bacteria that cause odor. It is also a great moisturizer for your skin šŸ™‚ If you google “Benefits of coconut oil” you will find lots of great information, more than I can remember off of the top of my head. It is an amazing thing and I always have some on hand.

  12. Hi Ashley! I am so glad I found your recipes! I haven’t looked very hard on your site to see if you have answered this question before, but I didn’t know if you would recommend using this for a man also? My hubby has some pretty strong arm pit funk and he sweats a lot, so I didn’t know if you had a variation for men? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

