English Muffin Bread


My husband loves english muffins, so when I came across this recipe I was really excited. Its extremely easy and does not take a lot of time like other bread recipes can. The best part is you don’t have to knead it! Its perfect for someone who is just starting out with bread making (like me!) I found it while browsing on Allrecipes.com (one of my favorite sites because I love food lol) You can find the original recipe here. I just made it today for the first time and it is AMAZING! Here is what you will need:

  • 5 cups all-purpose flour, divided
  • 2 (.25 ounce) packages active dry yeast (or 4 and 1/2 tsp)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 cups warm milk (110-115 degrees)
  • 1/2 cup warm water (120-130 degrees)
  • cornmeal

In a large mixing bowl, combine 2 cups flour, yeast, sugar, salt & baking soda. Add warm water and milk; beat on low speed for 30 seconds, scraping bowl occasionally. Beat on high 3 minutes then stir in remaining flour. (batter will be stiff) Do not knead. You should have something that looks like this:

Grease 2 loaf pans and sprinkle them with cornmeal. This is the magic pan coating I use, I will be sharing how to make this in the future. (Super easy and you will never have a problem with anything sticking to a pan ever again) {{You can now find the recipe here}}


Next you spoon your batter into the prepared pans, then sprinkle even more cornmeal on top. Cover the 2 pans with a damp cloth (or even damp paper towels like I did) and let your batter rise in a warm place for about 45 minutes. You want it to double in size like this:

While your batter is rising preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Bake them for 35 minutes, or until they are a nice golden brown. (35 minutes was perfect for our oven) Let them cool in the pans for a few minutes so you don’t burn yourself, then move them to a wire rack to cool completely. This is what you should end up with:

Now slice it up, toast it and smother it with something yummy! We used honey butter. This would also be perfect for breakfast sandwiches. Its delicious and does have the same texture as an english muffin. I have a feeling I will have to make this many more times in the future, my husband has already had several slices lol. I did use 2 cups of whole wheat white flour and 3 cups of all-purpose flour instead of just all-purpose flour to make it a little more healthy. I imagine you could also replace the sugar with splenda with no problems. If you decide to make this please let me know what you think!

❤ Ashley

Pin It

5 thoughts on “English Muffin Bread

  1. Rachel I am glad you are going to try it, let me know how it turns out 🙂 I am going to have to make more soon! I made 2 loafs and its almost gone already lol.

  2. Pingback: “Magic” Cake Pan Coating | Ashley's Homemade Adventures

  3. This is amazing! Made it today as soon as I came across the recipe 🙂 Didn’t have any corn meal so I just Pam and floured my bread crocks and buttered the top as soon as it was done baking. YUM!
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

